Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

6x12 cargo trailer conversion for camping.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6x12 cargo trailer conversion for camping.

Hi folks,
    I've ordered a 6' by 12' cargo trailer to convert into a camper.
    2021_Cargo_Mate_Challenger_6x12_Enclosed_Cargo_Trailer_YshbNI.jpg
    I'm going the DIY route because of cost and weight. Mostly cost. Also, it's more fun to build something than just buy it.

Anyway, I'm new to solar, but not new to batteries. I've chosen LiFePO4 as my chemistry, as it's lighter, safer, and longer lasting than lead-acid or Li-Ion. Most things in the trailer will be 12V, but there are a few exceptions. And I plan to be able to run everything on grid power as well as solar. Speaking of planning, the trailer won't be here until October at the earliest, and I've only just started buying a few little bits and pieces so far, so this is all still in the planning stage.

So starting with things in the trailer that will use electricity, I have 3 power hogs, a 700W microwave, 5,000 BTU a/c, and a 1 amp mini fridge. Even at only 700W, the microwave is just too much for any battery system I want to build, so it will only be available when external power is connected. Either a generator or grid power. If I remember right, the input power would be more like 1,200W, as the power rating is only for the output. Input power in microwaves can be as much as twice the output.