Solarizing my well

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Solarizing my well

Hi. I'm the new kid on the block! Here's what I'm trying to figure out how to do: I live in a rural area of NW FL. Marianna actually. I'm sensing an economic collapse in the near future and want to make my existing well solar powered. I can live without lots of stuff, but not water... I need some guidance as to how to set this up. I'm a building contractor and have experience in all fields and am very good with electric. I'll be doing everything myself on limited funds. I have around $10,000. to devote to this project. My well is 5 yrs old, 4" PV casing with a 1 hp 230 volt. I want to know how many and what type of batteries I need to run it, how many watts of PV I need to charge the batteries, the type & size of inverter/ charge controller I need. I would also use the system to power some household items when not using the well. Can I get a witness out there? I am 56 yrs old and nearly ignorant in the solar field and I want to do this ASAP. Thanks

Well you need to know how much power you will use in a day. You do have a rather huge problem, the well pump motor. How long will the pump run each day, and what else do you intend to run?
    MSEE, PE

Comment

Various pump resources are at the following URLs -

1) http://www.solarpumps.com/index.html
      2) Grundfos solar pump pdf http://www.us.grundfos.com/web/download.nsf/Pages/2B19EAAF8C0C8AFF88256B830056B6A7/$File/L-SQ-SL-010.pdf
      3) http://www.irrigationtutorials.com/pump.htm
      4) http://www.sunpumps.com/
      5) http://www.sunrayus.com/

The irrigation tutorial has some information about solar pumping in it

Like Sunking said - how much water per day?
      How deep are you pumping from?
      Can you use a head tank and have a separate pressure pump for household pressure?

Russ
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Comment

Usage