Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • getut
    • Jan 2014

Advice for an incremental build with micro grid-tie inverters

Yes I'm a newbie here... this is my first set of questions on my quest to going solar.
    I feel this question needs its own thread even though some of the questions I ask have answers in other threads, I have never seen anyone try to tie them all together the way I want to.

I have wanted to start a solar project for years but never have becaue of the initial cost. I have recently discovered the micro-inverters which I think will allow me to grow a system incrementally. I want to run my plan by you guys and get specific advice for how to pull together these many tasks that get asked here into a single project.

Goal 1: When it is all said and done, I want a grid-tie solar electric system that generates a net positive over a 24 hour period (generate more than I use) but I don't really care about batteries, so I don't mind going on grid at night time. I just want my day-time solar generation to offset that cost of being on grid at night.

Goal 2: I want the system to be able to work off grid when needed. I already have a 6500 watt diesel generator that won't run the entire house so I'll be using the generator to provide voltage to "activate" the grid-tie system.

Goal 3: I want to work up to Goal 1 and 2 incrementally.

The steps I think I need, please provide any input to this to correct me if I am wrong or if you know a better way.

1) I want have a professional electrician modify my panel box with a disconnect from grid power and whatever is needed to to run all needed lines out to my solar installation. The panels will be mounted on a pole building about 175ft from my house.

2) Once that is done I want to start with a single panel and single micro-inverter. I will probably buy a high quality pre-made panel to start with, but I want to build the rest of my panels and additional micro-inverters myself as I go and as money frees up.