X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • beans31
    • Apr 2019

Bank owned foreclosure

I recently purchased a bank owned foreclosure that had a solar city solar system on the roof. The bank had "no" knowledge about the system (right before we closed we found out that the panels were leased). The bank told us to consider them fixtures and that we owned them. Our title came back clean and all liens having to do with the panels had been wiped out in the foreclosure. We received a generic letter from tesla addressed to "current home owner" stating we had to sign a lease or they would come take the panels. Has anyone else dealt with this?
  • John_Dumke
    • Dec 2017

I am not a lawyer, so take everything I say with a grain (or the whole salt shaker) of salt, but I would suspect that you have claim to them. The lease was with the previous owner and attached to the property. It would then transfer to the new owner, if the property didn't go into foreclosure. But the foreclosed loan being in place before the lease, may wipe out the lease agreement as it pertains to the property because the lease is subordinate to the lien. So the solar company's sole recourse may be to only go after the previous owner. The previous statement about the foreclosure wiping out the lease is only my best guess as a California Real Estate Broker and should not be considered legal advice.

You purchased a property and all of the attached fixtures are real property and included with the sale. It is likely that you have a greater claim to the solar panels than the solar company. I would spend a lot of time reading up on the law. It could come down to what state the property is located.

Let us know what your research shows. Until I had read up on everything that was available, I would assume they are yours and keep the solar company off the property.

But Wait........ This article below says stuff about Fixture Filing as it applies to California. And that you may not own the panels.