X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mnhim001
    • Feb 2018

Not getting my production guarantee

Hi guys, I am new to solar panels. I have been producing power for 1 year now and by looking at my Enphase Envoy I have produced a total of 7,798.73 Kwh, but what I was guaranteed was 9,996 Kwh annually.

Would this be considered a signficant change where as I need to contact the installer and have them check?

As far as I know, I am using 20x Solar World 280 with 20x Enphase M250 Inverters.
  • J.P.M.
    Solar Fanatic
    • Aug 2013

Before you contact anyone, if you haven't done so already, start with your own estimate of annual output from PVWatts and see what the system might produce. Then, read the contract you signed with respect to production guarantees. Then, have the vendor check your monitoring equipment for proper setup and operation. The difference may be in faulty reporting/monitoring.

7,798 vs. 9996 kWh/yr. is probably a greater variation than might be reasonably explained by weather variation but it's possible even though unlikely.

More shading than anticipated may be possible. Micros will help the unshaded portion of an array produce power otherwise lost when using string inverters, but cannot restore energy lost from shading.

Comment

• mnhim001
      • Feb 2018

I am in Los Angeles, so weather hasn't been an issue. Their are also no trees above the roof.

How can I do my own estimate? The only numbers I have to go by are that of the monitoring equipment, but if that is faulty then how can I get this accurate?

Comment

• J.P.M.
        Solar Fanatic
        • Aug 2013

Originally posted by mnhim001
        I am in Los Angeles, so weather hasn't been an issue. Their are also no trees above the roof.

How can I do my own estimate? The only numbers I have to go by are that of the monitoring equipment, but if that is faulty then how can I get this accurate?