Any crimper under $100 worth buying?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any crimper under $100 worth buying?

Im not a pro, but like owning good tools. It seems like the swing is crazy cheap to the high end one. Is there a crimper out there you would recommend?

As long as you understand their limits, some won't have a full set of dies, most are not certifiable, and even the 20 ton hydraulic have their limits
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister

Comment

For what gauge? If you are planning correctly, you should never need anything larger than 4 AWG. Best bet is just buying terminated cables. Lots of places wil make them to any size or length. In addition many electrical supply rent them out, or find an Electrical Contractor and have him terminate the cables.

You can find some used T&B TBM21E or TBM25 on Flea Bay should be more than what you need for $100 or less.

Last edited by Sunking; 03-15-2018, 02:48 PM.
      MSEE, PE

Comment

Guess it might help if I post the gauge.

Both my systems use 10awg, I have a friend who is an installer with a set I can use but would rather have one in the tool box Incase I need some in the future.

The pre terminated ones scare me since I don
        Last edited by Dsspro; 03-15-2018, 06:30 PM.

Comment