Pool pump and solar panels!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pool pump and solar panels!!

Hi, Im new to this so bear with me on this one. I have a 1.5 HP electric motor for my pool and want to set it up with a solar panel system. Im a DYI'er new to this so my familiarity is low but I know how to do electrical. Could someone point me in a good direction for this type of project? and what would be the best way to set this kind of system up??? Thanks hope to hear back soon!

My friend has set up a solar DC motor for his pool, it is not cheap.... Now, you might even paying more if you want to run off your AC motor.

Comment

SunRayUS makes a nice looking unit, but initial cost is high, It could be very logical for remote or island locations. would be weather dependant. I think could be great for salt water pool when long slow daytime run is ideal. is not clear if the pump is constantly variable, but i suspect it is, so would start early slow and peak between noon and 1pm. I have a salt pool and it likes a long low speed run for maximum oxy saturation.
      4X Suniva 250 watt, 8X t-105, OB Fx80, dc4812vrf

Comment

Why do you want to pay 5 to 10 times more than you do the electric company?
        MSEE, PE

Comment

Originally posted by epz123 View Post
          Hi, Im new to this so bear with me on this one. I have a 1.5 HP electric motor for my pool and want to set it up with a solar panel system. Im a DYI'er new to this so my familiarity is low but I know how to do electrical. Could someone point me in a good direction for this type of project? and what would be the best way to set this kind of system up??? Thanks hope to hear back soon!

you are far better off installing grid tie solar and offsetting the pump usage plus some. In fact for the same money you could offset a lot more than just the pump usage.
          OutBack FP1 w/ CS6P-250P http://bit.ly/1Sg5VNH

Comment

2 steps to this,