question about discharge while charging

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• question about discharge while charging

Im new with solar. I understand that for 10wp panels you in fact dont need a chargecontroller. Diode is enough and the panel is directly connected to the battery. If i discharge from the 7ah 12v vrla battery 24 hours (eg a 3watt bulb) the battery will also be charge during peakhours.

Are there negative consequences ? Will it effect the lifetime of the battery if i discharge while charging??

Originally posted by fivewin View Post
    Are there negative consequences ? Will it effect the lifetime of the battery if i discharge while charging??
    You can't "charge while discharging."

If there is current flowing into the battery, you are charging. If there is current flowing out of the battery, you are discharging. If you are not sure how to figure this out, google "Kirchoff's Current Law." It will tell you how to calculate what's happening when you have an input to a node (solar) plus an output from a node (load.)

Comment

@ jflorey2

What you said is absolutely true.

But in simple terms some people would have a hard time understanding that a 3 watt load is drawing less from the battery then what the 10 watt panel is supplying the battery so the battery must be getting some additional charging.

The problem is that there needs to be a component like a "charge controller" between the panel and battery that would send all the panel power to the battery while the battery is sending the power needed to the load.

@ fivewin
      By the way charge controllers at that size are very cheap and will help prevent the battery from getting hurt.

Comment

• fivewin
        fivewin commented
        Editing a comment
        How about using a handphone while charging?? I do it reguarely. Is a chargecontroller built in in every hp??
        Last edited by fivewin; 08-31-2016, 02:49 PM.

• SunEagle
        SunEagle commented