Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Phil T
    • Apr 2019

Acid batteries

I have taken a house in Spain which has solar panels and from what I can see they work perfectly when the sun is beating down on them. My issue is I have a bank of 12 2v batteries which create 24v all going through an outback flexmax 80. 2 of my batteries constantly have fizzing water in them when in charging stage and settle down when not charging. These 2 batteries get a reading of 27v where the others show 24v. Have these batteries had it or is there a way to reduce the voltage to bring them online with the others. At the moment they cause an FX error and the power goes off in the evening.
    sorry for the essay bit I'm a newbie to all this.
    many thanks
  • Xplode
    Solar Fanatic
    • Sep 2016

Welcome Phil!

A little fizzling is normal for Flooded Lead Acid Batteries when they are charging. Can you provide a pic or make/model of the batteries?

I'm not sure how you're measuring the voltage and getting 27v vs 24v. If the batteries are all in series, you should only be able to read one voltage across them all.
    Check the voltage of the battery bank while it is charging/fizzling, and let us know what that number is.

I'm assuming these are flooded style batteries, and if they are, have you opened the caps to check the water levels?
    There are several VERY GOOD sticky'd topics in this forum and the "Lead Acid" sub-forum. Give those a read a couple times and see if any of it makes sense.
    I'm newish to battery/solar and they have been immensely helpful.

Comment

• Phil T
      • Apr 2019

Thank you for the info. The batteries were tested by a so called solar engineer while they were charging and 10 of the batteries were reading 24v on his meter he attached to them whilst the other 2 read 27v.
      I will send a picture when they are charging again as at the moment they're floating.
      I will also have a read the post on batteries as I have started to.

Comment