Good adivce is hard to find.

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

Good adivce is hard to find.

Hello All! im looking at getting the rest of my solar stuff together this week and this is my first time.The all mighty Internet has provided only confusion.Any help would be appreciated.

2x 12v 105ah batteries - already have these....i know 6v are better... i missed the train on that one.

280w 24v single mono panel( really good deal right now). - Is this better/more efficient when using an MPPT controller to step it down to 12v then lets say 12v panels with a PWM controller of similar watts

20Amp MPPT controller. - Should i get a 30amp in case i expand or will a 20amp provide plenty with 24v panels?

i already have a 3000w inverter. I know people will say its to big for 12v batteries but i only use it for light duty( biggest thing would be coffee maker ). - I already have a class T fuse block. What fuse should i run for this thing? 200-400amp? and recommendation on wire size? is Class T fuse the proper fuse?

My last question is with wiring....if i have 2 x 12v batteries. Should i put the inverter wires and the solar wires on different battery terminals or will they be fine sharing the same - + posts?

Please help the internet is a scary place. Since i have not bought some of this stuff im open to suggestions as well. Thanks
  • inetdog
    Super Moderator
    • May 2012

You will get lots of good advice here, although you may not like it.
    To start you off, a coffee maker can be a 1000W load, and that means around 100A of DC out of your batteries. If you were to go to the full 3000W for any reason you would be pulling 300A and the wiring for that is not something you want to get involved with 24V would be a lot better.
    Also, for parallel battery connections read up on the information at http://smartgauge.co.uk/batt_con.html.