Tabbing hints for solar cells

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tabbing hints for solar cells

Can anyone give me some tabbing hints for tabbing 36 6x6 solar cells minimizing the breaking of the cells,what type of solder is recommended,and why the solar cell concave when soldering.
    any help will be appreciated

I'm new to tab soldering too. Maybe this may help

Check out first clip in the series for a better understanding. He uses the tempered glass under the cells to take some of the heat so that the cells don't warp from the heat. He also uses CL-Flux, he swears by it along with a dental pick. I found the flux on ebay for about $6 including s/h. I am actually using broken 3x5 cells in my first solar panel build. Good luck in your quest. I have been reading up on the solar energy specs etc for a while, but am finally getting the courage to try a build.

Mod note - youtube link removed
    Last edited by russ; 03-03-2013, 10:27 PM. Reason: Want to add more concise information

Comment

Is it forbidden

I wanted to post some youtube videos to demonstrate what other do and discuss it but i do not know if it is forbidden ?

Comment

Originally posted by elhifnawyplast View Post
        I wanted to post some youtube videos to demonstrate what other do and discuss it but i do not know if it is forbidden ?
        It is generally not allowed.
        [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Comment

If you want to describe the video well enough that a YouTube search could easily find it, that would probably be acceptable. But putting a direct link to the video both gives it a higher reputation among the search engines and can make it too easy for people to think it is in some way endorsed by Solar Panel Talk.
          There is so much that is absolutely crazy or outright fraudulent on YouTube that many clips from there are not even worth discussing.