Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bhudson
    • Dec 2012

Ideas needed for Solar Power on Food Truck

So, I am new to the group, but i have some questions regarding a Food Truck that I plan on building over the winter. I am a chef and have been in the industry for 13 years. I worked on a sustainable farm for a while, and was able to live in a house that was completely powered by solar. I would like to try and use this sort of thing in conjunction with my food truck concept. The only thing is, I dont really know what I could do to use that power for. I need an education in the applications of solar in an automobile. With 200 square feet of space on the roof, i have a lot of area to cover. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
  • Wy_White_Wolf
    Solar Fanatic
    • Oct 2011

First thing is to define you load. So what do you want to operate, how many watts does it require and how long per day do you want to operate it?

Comment

• Sunking
      Solar Fanatic
      • Feb 2010

The vehicle alternator can do in 30 minutes what a roof full of panels can do in a day.
      MSEE, PE

Comment

• bhudson
        • Dec 2012

Would it be possible for the panels to charge a bank of car bat's and then run an ac converter? I'm pretty sure it wouldn't run all of my ovens, water heaters, etc. Would you all know where I could get some info or technical specs on different types of panels?

Originally posted by Wy_White_Wolf
        First thing is to define you load. So what do you want to operate, how many watts does it require and how long per day do you want to operate it?

Comment

• green
          Solar Fanatic
          • Aug 2012

Originally posted by bhudson
          Would it be possible for the panels to charge a bank of car bat's and then run an ac converter? I'm pretty sure it wouldn't run all of my ovens, water heaters, etc. Would you all know where I could get some info or technical specs on different types of panels?