X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • soul
    • Aug 2011

Question

Hi Everyone:
    I am a undergraduate student I have a question from my course solar energy. I needed help in the following question . The question is:
    Q. Calculate the thicknesses of silver and silicon that will absorb  95% of 600 nm light that enters the surface. Do the results have any implications for silicon based solar cells?
    I am using the formula I=Io * exp(-alpha*x)
    where I=intensity of light (I)at any distance (x) into the material
    and Io is the light intensity at the top surface

I calculated absorption coefficient(alpha) for silicon from the website http://www.cleanroom.byu.edu/OpticalCalc.phtml. and kept 'I' as 0.05 and Io as 1. and calculated x which came out to be 5.74 micrometer but I am not sure about the calculation and typically the solar cell has a thickness of 200 to 500 micrometer.

Please let me know if I am right or wrong.
  • russ
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jul 2009

Hi Soul - Welcome to Solar Panel Talk!

Good luck with your project but I haven't got the foggiest idea. Doubt you will get many replies here as our members are generally oriented toward practical implementation and not the theory of solar PV.

Russ
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Comment

• soul
      • Aug 2011

Thanks

Originally posted by russ
      Hi Soul - Welcome to Solar Panel Talk!

Good luck with your project but I haven't got the foggiest idea. Doubt you will get many replies here as our members are generally oriented toward practical implementation and not the theory of solar PV.

Russ
      Thanks russ. My objective is: To obtain an Electrical Engineering integrating strong technical proficiency and contribute towards addressing the challenges of Global Warming by accomplishing energy efficient systems.