Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bbutcher
    • Mar 2024

Factors to consider before buying solar panels

I am a retired electrical engineer who worked in the solar panel industry for a number of years. There are many thing about solar that are not explained well, or in some cases distorted. I would like to help clarify some of those.

Is solar right for me?.
    There is not a simple answer to that question. It depends on many factors, including where you live, the cost of electricity, the availability of electricity, the orientation of your home, and many others.

Resources

Much of the information presented here is based on the "Solar Radiation Data Manual for Flat-Plate and Concentrating Collectors" published by the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) in Golden Colorado. The information in that document is based on data collected and computer models. The data collected was between 1961-1990, and conditions may have changed slightly since that time.

Solar Facts

Sunlight varies during the day even if the sky is clear. This is due partly to the amount of atmosphere the light travels through before striking your solar panel. Around mid-day the light is nearly overhead but this does depend on the latitude where you live and the season. At that time, the light absorbed by the atmosphere is minimum. In the early morning and late afternoon the light travels through the atmosphere at an angle and more light is absorbed. When directly overhead, the sunlight intensity is about 1000 watts per square meter. That means if you have a solar panel that measures about 40 inches by 40 inches, it will be exposed to approximately 1000 watts of sunlight. Double the size of the panel and you will double the power available.