X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mike788
    • Oct 2022

Theoretical maximum output from panels

Hello everyone,

So, I'm a newbie on here and wanted to get your expert feedback on this conversation.

I've looked at previous posts from years ago on this forum, and so now want to pose the question again.

With the advent in solar technology in Poly, Mono and now PERC and output figures rising all the time, what does everyone feel is now the theoretical maximum output from, let's say a panel sized 1650mmx1000mm using either 5",6",7" or half cell designs?

My old panels in the back garden are this size and rated at 265w, but technology has moved on.

Obviously there are newer designs out there, but the sizes of these new panels seem to be getting rather large.

With the standard formula of 1000w/sqm input to panels (STC), what are the possibilities of creating a 1650mmx1000mm single panel that could deliver close to 1kW output?

Really interested to hear your thoughts.
  • J.P.M.
    Solar Fanatic
    • Aug 2013

It's probably better to think of efficiencies in terms of percentages rather than the max. output of a particular sized panel.

At this time and in spite of all the hoopla about super duper revolutionary discoveries and techniques which are still mostly the stuff of white collar welfare master's and doctoral theses, vaporware and wishful thinking, the highest published STC efficiency for a silicon based PV panel is a bit under 23 % and has stayed there for several years. Conmen and shysters claim more but the reality is that at this time, here isn't much new and in production under the sun.

For silicon based cells, the cutoff wavelength for useful energy is about 1.13 to 1.15 microns. Wavelengths longer than that which constitute about 26 % or so of the energy contained in incoming sea level irradiance is unusable and only serves to heat the cell.