X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Rossi
    • Apr 2022

Problem adding new batteries

Hello, newbie here, thanks for the add.

I have searched far and wide and cannot find an answer to my problem, I'd really value some help please.

My system is:
    PV array (2010)
    Solar Edge single phase inverter (2019)
    Sofar ME3000SP charge controller (2010)
    Pylontech US2000 plus battery (2016) x1

The system was installed prior to my purchase of the house.

The system works perfectly fine. However, i have added Pylontech US2000C batteries x2 and i cannot get the system to work. I have tried every permeation, just one of the new batteries (tried both), just the new batteries, one old one new, all together, new battery first, old battery first. Any permeation that involves a new battery does not work. Returning the system to the original setup and it works fine.

What happens is 45s of standby after first turning the system on, followed by alarm code ID52 (battery communication fault). This resets and i might see a few minutes of operation, but the alarm trips at least every 4 minutes and the system spends most of the time in alarm or standby mode.

I have seen posts referring to connecting the batteries and/or charge controller to a device to extract information, but that is beyond my knowledge and the system presently is not WiFi connected, thus the only data i have is as above.

many thanks in advance.

• oregon_phil
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jan 2019

Did you read your charge controller manual?

I don't have any of this equipment, but I did read the charge controller and battery manual.

The attachment shows the battery DIP switch settings.

Your current battery is set up for a single battery and 9600 or 115200 baud rate.

If I had your set up with new batteries, I would verify each battery one at a time with the charge controller.