X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • akhalsa
    • Dec 2021

Site selection for large scale solar projects

Hello All!

My background is in software development but I am thinking hard about a career change into the renewables space. As I have been doing research, I have found I am interested in the question of how sites are selected for large scale (utility and community) solar projects. Does anyone know how the market for suitable properties works or have experience identifying and negotiating for locations? I am particularly interested in what tools / marketplaces are currently available and if there are still pain points to solve in that space? I'd love any links / resources you all might be able to point me towards or to hear any of your thoughts on how these transactions typically work today?

Thanks in advance!
  • J.P.M.
    Solar Fanatic
    • Aug 2013

I'd go out to the S.O. CA desert and take names off signs at the front gates of solar farms. Then I'd google them, and get ahold of them. Besides, they may have need of folks with you types of skills. It might be a way to slide into a new career via the side door so to speak.

You'd have been better off with an education in engineering and particularly engineering project management. I'm not sure what pushing bytes around has to do with site silection for centralized energy production projects.

As for site selection, like most projects, energy production and otherwise, it's a set of multifaceted and variable parameters most of which are co and inter dependent to some degree. Then there's fed., state and local gov. mandates and requirements.

Good luck.

Comment

• peakbagger
      Solar Fanatic
      • Jun 2010