New to Solar, will this work?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Solar, will this work?

Hi, Sorry if this comes across as a bit of a newbie question. I am new to Solar power, but it's something that I am keen to get into.

I live in Central France, where we do get a lot of sun most of the time. We had the chap round from Enerdis (French power company) and he gave us an outrageous quote for installing panels, buying the power and selling it back to us. Told him no thank you, but since then have wanted to put in our own system.

Not wanting to go totally off grid (at the moment) just want to use solar to help with our consumption.

This is the system I am looking at: Epever UP5000-HM8042 hybride 5kW 48V - 450V- MPPT 100A, which can be used with or without batteries.

Six 24v Saronic 315w panels, which would be wired in series and 20 metres of 6mm solar panel cable with MC4 connectors.

I want to use batteries at some point, but this way I can get setup and then install the batteries at a later date.

Would this system work and what will I be able to power with it?

I know that I will have to work out our usage to determine what batteries we will need, but hoping that this will be a budget friendly way to get started.

Let me know what you think and/or what I should look at instead.
    Thanks, Ben.

Hello Ben in France and welcome to Solar Panel Talk

While going with a hybrid can work for some people I am not sure how good it will work for you. In the USA we still have to get a contract with our Electrical Power company (POCO) before we can install a grid tied system which can delay the installation.

On top of that going with batteries raises the cost way up and makes it difficult to justify and have a reasonable ROI except for areas that have very high electric rates.

And finally unless you plan on adding a lot more of those panels maybe going with the smaller 3000w inverter will make sense if the cost is much lower.