• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Getatmic
    • Jun 2011

PV 1Week Workshop...Seeking Advice / Nabcep

Hello,
    I'm about to take a 1week pv workshop.
    has anyone taken these before and what adivce would you have a beginner ?
    i've been on 3 pv installations and i'm studying the Pv Design and Install Manual ( class book)...any info would be awesome. feel free to email me if so.

the ultimate goal is pass the nabcep of course.
    i'm also seeking advice on how to study for that as well.
    bless
    Michael
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

1) workshop ? name website ?

2) Are you an electrician ? You need to understand just about all of the household AC wiring codes, because you will be inside the main breaker panel, and working next to the live utility side of the meter socket.

3) for permits, inspections, insurance, you need electrical contractors license - a solar endorsement is nothing without the license to append it to.

Be advised, many of the "solar workshops" are scams that are 1 step above you tube classes. Unregulated, uncertified...
    Last edited by Mike90250; 06-01-2011, 03:43 PM.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister

Comment

• russ
      Solar Fanatic
      • Jul 2009

Mike is 100% correct - many are little more than expensive scams - try to be sure of what you will be getting for your time and money.
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Comment

• Getatmic
        • Jun 2011

solar living institue.