Cleaning and Solutions for cleaning panels

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cleaning and Solutions for cleaning panels

I'm new to solar having only had my panels generating electricity for the last 3 weeks. After a few rainstorms I've noticed water droplet marks all over the panels. Obviously these are small, but wouldn't they block the sun to some degree? I was wondering if there is any solutions to prevent this? Perhaps the automotive product called Rain-X? Could this or something similar be applied to the panels to keep them cleaner longer? Do I need to worry about cleaning my panels? If so, how do I clean them? How do I know if they need to be cleaned? What do I use to clean them? High pressure hose? Soap and water? Terri Towel?

Welcome Crashmaster. There are lots of threads here on the board about cleaning panels (take a search), how to clean, how not to clean, if it helps, etc.

To summarize in a nutshell:

1) Unless you live near a construction site, or a hot, dry, windy, dirty/sandy,salty place where it never rains, it's usually best to just let nature take its course. Water drops are not a concern, but baked on dirt/sand/salt/guano/bird droppings can be.

2) Generally minor/normal dust an dirt can/will cut production by ~3-10% between heavy rain falls. But it is very difficult to quantify this accurately, and many here have tried. Most don't bother to clean and/or feel the risks of cleaning don't justify benefits

3) Never clean panels when the glazing is hot, never pressure wash, don't use harsh detergents, chemicals, or abrasives. Water alone, or perhaps a little Dawn, with a squeegee or window washing pole and soft pad/head, and a regular garden hose.

4) You need to be very careful not to scratch/wear the AR coating on the glazing, not to crack the glazing, not to force high pressure water between the glazing and frame seal