Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • john.b
    • Oct 2017

panel watt size

Hi, My question is about the difference between panel size in watts, i'm new to solar and have a 300 watt panel but after watching many videos on Youtube i mostly see people with large amounts of smaller pannels like 100-150 watts, this kind of got me thinking why do people do that instead of using larger panels especially when short of space, my 300w panel is around 1m x 1.5m and i'd think 3 x 100w panels would be bigger in size so i was wanting to know is there any advantage to having more smaller panels than fewer larger ones, will 3 x 100 watt panels give more current than 1 x 300 watt panel ?

Many thanks
    john
  • sensij
    Solar Fanatic
    • Sep 2014

With PWM charge controllers on 12 V systems, sometimes smaller panels are a better choice. For most systems, the 300 W panel you have will be more cost effective.
    CS6P-260P/SE3000 - http://tiny.cc/ed5ozx

Comment

• john.b
      • Oct 2017

Originally posted by sensij
      With PWM charge controllers on 12 V systems, sometimes smaller panels are a better choice. For most systems, the 300 W panel you have will be more cost effective.
      Thanks Sensij, sorry i should have said my controller is MPPT, the system is 12v for now but may change that later on as i will need to run long cable when i build the array, the 300 panel is just sitting on a shed roof just to give me some idea of what to expect, what caught my eye was the panel labels on different panels, mine says 9.5A but i'd noticed some100w panels say 5.5A so was thinking 3 of these have the potential make more power than the single 300w, i've probebley got my wires crossed so that's why i thought i'd post up to get some thoughts on it.

Thank you again for your reply
      Take care
      john

Comment

• littleharbor
        Solar Fanatic
        • Jan 2016