X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • krivis
    • Apr 2017

Need advice for solar charging car acid 75AH battery

Hi guys,

as the title says, i need advice on how powerful solar system should i buy for charging 75AH car acid batt. In the moment i have 150W 220v AC inverter connected to the 75AH batt, and i change that battery every 2~3days. I measured the power draw between the inverter and batt. and its 12v dc 1.3 amps. The inverter works 24/7.

Thanks in advance for any advice!
    Last edited by krivis; 04-28-2017, 06:05 AM.
  • Laspher
    • Mar 2017

While not being actively involved with solar, or battery yet, I would suggest changing to a Deep cycle battery. Car batteries are meant for a rapid release of energy, for just a momentary shot. They are not meant for long drains, nor are they meant to be cycled. It will probably die quickly.

As for charging, rough guess is a 200 watt 12v panel with capable charge controller.

Again, I am still learning myself, so take all my advice with a grain of salt.

Comment

• Sunking
      Solar Fanatic
      • Feb 2010

Forget the car battery.
      MSEE, PE

Comment

• NEOH
        Solar Fanatic
        • Nov 2010

Let's just say, your Solar Panel receives 4 Hours (avg) of strong sunshine and
        it must replace all of the Watts that your Inverter uses on a daily basis.

The math goes something like this ...
        12 Volts DC x 1.3 Amps x 24 Hours = 374 Watt-Hours used per day by the inverter.
        Size of the Solar Panel is approx 100 Watts = 374 Watt-Hours / 4 Hours Strong Sunshine

If you have 4 hours of strong sunshine every day, your car battery may last 30 - 90 days ( maybe longer ??? )
        Last edited by NEOH; 05-15-2017, 09:13 AM.

Comment

• PNjunction
          Solar Fanatic
          • Jul 2012

With a vehicular SLI, or shallow-dischage starting battery, do not draw more than 10% of it's rated capacity per cycle if you want to get a rough vehicular 3-4 year equivalent out of it.