Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mtjk
    • Nov 2016

Real time data from a solar module

Hi everybody, I am new to solar and I have a few questions that i hope experienced people can answer.

1. How is real time data collected from a solar module.
    2. What form of data is being retrieved from the module. ( eg. in the form of numbers, alphabets etc )

I have searched the web and various articles but have not seem to get the answer I am looking for.
    Thanks in advanced for the help!
  • SunEagle
    Super Moderator
    • Oct 2012

Hello mtjk and welcome to Solar Panel Talk

Real time data can't be collected directly from a solar panel. Although it can be collected from a micro inverter that the panel is connected to. The catch is the micro inverter must be set up by a solar installer or Contractor that has the ability to program each micro to communicate with a website to send the data and then allows the "customer" to see it using some type of webpage which can display both real time (or approximately) and historical data.

One type of micro inverter is made by Enphase although there are other similar manufacturers.

Comment

• mtjk
      • Nov 2016

Hi SunEagle! Thanks for the reply!

So the way to collect and store data is through the use of a micro inverter right?
      And what kind of data is gathered ( eg. energy yield or amount of photons entering or something like this? ) Or is the data collected not fixed and can be varied according to different users

Comment

• littleharbor
        Solar Fanatic
        • Jan 2016

Or a solar optimizer and appropriate grid tie inverter
        2.2kw Suntech mono, Classic 200, NEW Trace SW4024

Comment

• SunEagle
          Super Moderator
          • Oct 2012

Originally posted by mtjk
          Hi SunEagle! Thanks for the reply!

So the way to collect and store data is through the use of a micro inverter right?