Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newb's ask foolish questions . . . I should know, I am a Newb!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newb's ask foolish questions . . . I should know, I am a Newb!

About a year ago I had a professionally installed grid-tie system added to my home. It's a standard grid-tie with no battery backup. I've not really given a lot of thought to how the system works -- but now I am wondering something and I can't seem to find the answer (or I've not hit on the right google search phrase), so here is a foolish question:

When the grid goes down I know that the inverter can "sense" this and shuts off the flow of power to my breaker box (and thus, isolates the power from the grid -- I get that this is important to protect the lineman working to repair it), but where is the power that the panels are producing "going" (I mean, it's not like the sun stopped shining, so the PVC's are still making power)?

I've not had any significant power outages since installing the system, but I am wondering if I should have investigated "Hybrid" systems that allow you to switch to off grid use during a blackout. So here is another foolish question (actually two): Is it too late to add the components to make it a hybrid system and would it be worth the expense?

Hello JSKoehler and welcome to Solar Panel Talk. Some more info would be needed, what type (make and model) inverter do you have now. I think you have answered your own question though, if you rarely have black outs why go to the added expense? When the grid goes down the inverter can see this and shuts down (goes into stand by mode) so you are not inverting any DC current to AC, some call this power shedding, the panels are still producing current but its not being inverted into anything your house can use.

Comment