X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Brian53713
    Solar Fanatic
    • Oct 2016

Off grid, tax credit ?

I have heard some off-grid applications are tax deductible. Does anyone know the facts whether the off-grid materials qualify?
    And to what extent, every single item?
  • organic farmer
    Solar Fanatic
    • Dec 2013

Originally posted by Brian53713
    I have heard some off-grid applications are tax deductible. Does anyone know the facts whether the off-grid materials qualify?
    And to what extent, every single item?

You need to speak with your accountant.

Your tax filing will be different from anyone else' tax filing. They are all completely customized. No two tax filers will be the same.

The IRS allows solar power systems and solar thermal systems to be depreciated over 7 years.

We are depreciating our solar power system.

It depends mostly on what type of business activity you are doing. I am a military retiree, and I am currently an organic farmer. As a farmer I can not swing a dead cat without hitting yet another tax deduction. Nearly everything I own is deductible in some manner.

You need to review this with your tax preparer.
    4400w, Midnite Classic 150 charge-controller.

Comment

• foo1bar
      Solar Fanatic
      • Aug 2014

Originally posted by organic farmer

You need to speak with your accountant.
      I agree.
      OP: Don't follow this guys advice (nor mine).
      Use it as starting point for doing your own research.

The IRS allows solar power systems and solar thermal systems to be depreciated over 7 years.
      IF and ONLY IF it is a business use.
      I believe that most off-grid applications are personal residence uses.
      And therefore no depreciation.
      BUT they do get to put the whole system (modules, controllers, wiring, batteries, installation) onto form 5695 and get the 30% tax credit.