Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ScottRanch
    • Jun 2016

Water fountain pump

I have a 100W panel connected to a deep cycle 12V battery, into a 20A charge controller. The pump says it's PMax 5W@12V. Will the panel be able to charge battery to keep the pump running 24x7 or will the battery go dead? I am new to solar energy. My first set up so I want to do it right. Thanks
  • SunEagle
    Super Moderator
    • Oct 2012

Hello ScottRanch and welcome to Solar Panel Talk

That pump will use about 120 watt hours a day (5w x 24hr = 120wh). So you would need a 12v battery rated about 50Ah (120wh x 5 / 12v = 50Ah). If that 100watt panel has an Imp rating ~ 5 or more amps it should be able to recharge the battery but may have a problem if you do not get enough sunlight for a couple of days.
    Last edited by SunEagle; 06-15-2016, 11:37 AM. Reason: spelling

Comment

• ScottRanch
      • Jun 2016

The Imp is 5.62AH.The battery is a Duracell 12V deep cycle 105AH. My concern is if I am going to struggle with keeping the battery charged with the pump running 24x7. I think I can set the controller to 12hour and not 24. But I prefer to keep the pump running all the time to prevent stagnation of the water. I am using 14/2 wire between panel and controller and battery and controller.

Comment

• SunEagle
        Super Moderator
        • Oct 2012

Well that 105Ah battery is more than big enough to easily run the pump for 24 hours. But the problem is you will need about 10 amps of charging capability to keep that battery happy. Most FLA batteries require somewhere between 1/8 to 1/12 the Ah rating with 1/10 being the sweet spot. That would calculate out to 10.5amps which is more than a single 100 watt panel can output.

With only 5.62 amps you would be around 1/18 the Ah rating which is too slow. I would suggest getting a second 100 watt panel which that 20amp CC should be able to handle and now gets you more than 10.5 amps of charging capability.