Run Boombox off 12v DC for longer runtime?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • kman
    • Jul 2010

Run Boombox off 12v DC for longer runtime?

Hi, I'm new to solar so please let me know if this is the wrong place.

I have a sony boombox I'd like to run off a battery (deep cycle) for a while, and a solar panel to recharge the battery.

An idea is the boombox will run longer if I run it off 12v DC instead of hooking up an inverter, right? The box takes 8x D cells (12v) so I think I could run it right off the big battery's current?

I'd imagine I could use clips to connect the battery right to the contacts, or better yet make a little fake dowel battery connected to a 12v cigarette lighter plug? Only problem is I'm not certain how to hook it up to the battery and I'm afraid to fry it!

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Oh, the bottom of the boom box says 120v 60hz 30w and 12v DC. Can that help me figure how long it can run off the battery (battery is 115 amp-hours)?

I know the formula is watts = amps * volts, but I don't know if the 30w figure is common to both AC and DC voltage. But if so, I figure on 12vDC it's pulling 2.5 amps, think that's right for an average-size sony boombox? I somehow doubt that means I can run it for 22 hours (bringing it to 50% charge), but that would be great if so!
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

12 D cells is 18V, so a 12V battery may behave poorly.

8 D cells would be 12V . Standard AAA -D batteries are 1.5V, rechargeables are 1.25V
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||