Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • FIDIRO
    • Sep 2021

Help me understand my system

Hello everyone, I am fairly new to solar and am trying to find out how everything is supposed to look like after nearly a year since interconnection. I have an 8.5kw Sunpower system which consists of 26 panels that are rated for 327watts that are all south roof mounted. I chose to own over lease. System is tied to the grid.

What kind of kw daily highs should I be seeing on a good day with a system this size?

I don't have access to individual panels data (they have been saying it's in the works) and I have seen my meter go forward with just the electric dryer on a sunny mid day and started to think the system is underperforning, dryer is about 5k watts when element is heating + a few low wattage things. The live data that I have access to shows at best 7.3kwh for all 26 panels and that is on a bright sunny day around noon, is this what I have to expect at this time of the year for this size system.

Sorry for the rant for a first post, just trying to better understand my system and what I can do to make it better.

Thank you all for any advice you have to offer.

• FIDIRO
    • Sep 2021

Just realized I posted in the wrong forum. If at all possible can a moderator move this to an appropriate forum. Sorry and thank you

Comment

• Ampster
      Solar Fanatic
      • Jun 2017

If Sunpower did not give you a production estimate you can go to PV Watts and input your system and location and get a good estimate. That might be able to tell you how many hours that you might be able to expect your system to provide 5kW. We are at the Equinox so production is down from the June Solstice.
      I have a 7.9 kW system and I see only a few hours at or above 5kW at this time of year.
      Last edited by Ampster; 09-21-2021, 08:56 PM.
      9 kW solar, 42kWh LFP storage. EV owner since 2012

Comment

• J.P.M.
        Solar Fanatic
        • Aug 2013

Since you're asking for advice: