X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • paulrye
    • Jul 2013

Idea for small residential PV system, in California

Hi all,

This is my first post on SolarPanelTalk. Just registered today. I'm an ex-mechanical engineer (20 years). Been teaching HS math for the last 14 years. Been interested in solar panels for about 10 years, had several quotes done, but never pulled the trigger. Had an idea a few months ago which I've been mulling over. Now it's summer, I'm getting more serious about it.

Here's the idea:
    Here in California, we have tiered residential pricing. In Long Beach, where I live, the pricing from Southern California Edison is:

Tier Tier1 Tier2 Tier3 Tier4
    Cents per kWh 13¢ 16¢ 27¢ 31¢

In a nutshell, the idea is to build a PV system just large enough to offset power usage that exceeds Tier 2 and is priced at Tier 3. Then, I buy cheap power from SCE in Tier 1 and 2, and I credit myself for the power from my small PV system at 27-31 cents per kWh Tier 3 and 4.

OK, I know it's not as simple as that, and I didn't expect it would be. I suspected that SCE would not re-imburse me at 27 cents. Rather, I suspected they would re-imburse at the lowest rate first, then at higher rates as a grid-tied system feeds more power into the grid, only re-imbursing at the highest rate as the point of zero net power usage is approached. So, I called SCE to ask about reimbursement rates and was completely brushed off. "We don't determine that. The CPUC determines that. It depends on your installation. Call this number for the California Solar Initiative. Solar is our competition. We are not answering any questions about solar, period. Go the frack away. Are you still asking questions? GO THE FRACK AWAY!" So I called the number they gave me for the CSI, and it referred me to the information on SCE's Website, which does not explain the reimbursement rate. Niiiice. Now, I am here.

Here's my very rough analysis, so far. My March 2013 bill from SCE was a typical bill for me: