Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Photonfanatic
    • Jun 2013

Might have found a way to make it worth it in TX

I have contacted Green Mountain Energy via email about their voluntary net metering in TX. It seems that their policy is, that they will pay up to 500 kwh per month, the same rate that they're currently charging. So if they're charging 11.6 cents, that's what they'll pay you, up to 500 kwh. But my question is of course, "is that enough?". Could a standard sized house operate on that much electricity in the demanding summer months of TX? We often see 106F days. I'm new to dealing with electric companies and their rates and measurements, so please forgive my newb ignorance. I take it that 1 Kwh is enough to run say... a 1 kw dishwasher for 1 hour?

Here is the actual email reply that I got:

Green Mountain is offering its customers credit for any excess energy that their qualifying distributed renewable generation facility exports to the electricity grid. For the first 500 kWh per month, the credit will be the same per kWh rate that Green Mountain charges for the Renewable Rewards product. For any excess energy beyond 500 kWh per month, the buy-back credit rate will be reduced by 50%. The credit is exclusive of any monthly service charge, TDSP advanced meter surcharge, applicable taxes and fees or other charges. Only customers who meet all of the criteria and are enrolled on the Renewable Rewards product can be eligible for this reimbursement.

To directly answer your question, for the first 500 kwh you generate during any given month, yes, GMEC credits the exact amount you are charged. If you go beyond the 500 kwh benchmark, we credit half of the rate for the renewable rewards product is charging at the time.

Green Mountain Energy Company is committed to excellent customer service. If we can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us toll free at 1-866-785-4668.
  • KRenn
    Solar Fanatic
    • Dec 2010