Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Thirstymate
    • Jan 2022

Second hand EOS thermal system

I've been searching through and I can't directly find the information I'm looking for.

As a background, I am an architectural engineer turned commercial pilot, who has for a long time desired to dable with solar heating. This system is located in southern Maine US.

I found a complete second hand EOS solar set up consisting of 2 thirty tube manifolds, a 60 and 80gal storage tank and all the pumps, heat exchangers and and IMC solar eagle 2 controller. For a very low price I am now creating hot water. The 60 gal tank is a preheated for DHW and the 80 gal will be the storage for the single baseboard heat loop in the house.

My question is in regards to normal operating parameters.
    With this setup on a full sun day I am seeing an average at the output of the collector of 165 degrees, and by the end of direct sun around 4pm the bottom of my 60 gal tank around 115 degrees. The high limit for switching to tank 2 is 120, so far so good on that end. 165degrees at the collector by 10 am is much more than I was expecting. I certainly did my homework with sun angle and facing 195degrees on a compass... But if that's what I'm seeing in January, I'm going to have a serious amount of heat to displace this summer. Does this sound correct? Is the collector operating too high? I have the documents for installation, but EOS is long gone and I have no "normal" operating parameters to go by.

System is charged with Dowfrost HD
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

seat of the pants, I'd do something to increase the transfer of heat from the collector loop to the potable. Either faster pump rate, or larger exchanger in the the storage tanks.
    165F water just "seems too hot"

In summer, you HAVE to shade much of the collector system, or it will overheat. Start saving refrigerator cardboard cartons !