X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• shorting out solar panels

hi this is my first time on a forum so im new to all this
    I want to connect 2 100w solar panels to a 24vdc 300w water heater
    can this be done without a regulator but would this create a dead short on the solar panels
    with ohms law the heater has an impedence of about 2 ohms
    is this enough not to create a dead short ?????

Shorting solar panels does not hurt the panel, but the gold plate on the MC4 connectors will be spoiled if they are connected/opened under load.

Water heaters generally have AC voltage thermostats, which will quickly be ruined with the DC from solar panels. If your heater has DC thermostat, you should be OK
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister

Comment

iv just realised im six hours in front of you so thanks for replying
      I have a 240v water element and I want to replace the element with a 24v 300w
      so I can connect it up to the solar panles
      im told it can be connected up to a 24v solar panel
      would that be 2 in series or what

Comment

On the panel, will be a value called Vmp=_____ That number is the max power voltage of the panel. you need a single panel or combination of panels, where that number adds up to 24V. But 100w panels will not work well, with a 300w load on them, their voltage will collapse and you will not get a lot of heating.