Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • C_Heath
    • Feb 2017

No space for an eco drain so......

I did look at the eco drain or perhaps building some sort of grey water heat exchanger but the way my shower is, it would be in the center of the basement at my entry doors. So with that, I noticed that my incoming water line was 49 degrees and steadily warmed up as it got closer to the tank. Keep in mind, #1 I'm new to all this energy conservation stuff, #2 house still has copper water lines, #3 just trying to do what I can to lessen my footprint and save money at the same time. So, wouldn't it be better as a second option to at least spend $12 on some insulation and get that water temp up as it ENTERS the water heater so it won't have to work so hard? Or wil this cause some sort of negative reaction?

Thanks
  • C_Heath
    • Feb 2017

Addendum: already have pipe insulation on the hot water line. It was a big help in the wait at the shower head for hot water. 3 to 1 in time

Comment

• J.P.M.
      Solar Fanatic
      • Aug 2013

If the water is entering the building at 49 F.on its way to the tank, any heat it picks up will be from the dwelling, or the air in the dwelling. Eventually, it'll get to your water heater and get more heat. You pay for at least some of the space heat that heated the water on the way to the tank, and the energy to heat the water once it got to the tank. As a practical matter, and If you're all electric, it makes little difference whether you insulate an incoming water line or not. I'd save the money and skip it for now. You've got bigger fish to fry.