Pondering

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pondering

I have been interested in solar water heating for a long time. I purchased a couple of vacuum tubes after seeing YouTube videos of boiling water in the freezing cold. I am an engineer by degree and manufacturing equipment designer and seeing this tube boiling water like this has always let me wondering why it isn’t utilized more.
    I have scoured the internet and seen how many people use these systems to create hot water and some supplemental heat. One of my favorites was of a guy who buried a septic tank insulated it and used it to store hot water for his DHW and some heat.
    From reading this forum I see there is a lot of solar experience and knowledge and I was hoping you guys would be able to help me understand the dynamics of this stuff a little better.
    First of all, why aren’t there people using this system to create electricity by harnessing the heat to create steam? I see google doing it with a massive array of mirrors aiming the sun at a pressure vessel. Couldn’t you put enough of these tubes in a system to generate enough steam to power a small generator? Are PV cells more efficient at creating electricity than using heat?
    What is a realistic maximum temperature to get out a solar vacuum tube collector or flat plate collector? I see lots of people store heated water, but why not use sand and a heat transfer fluid to store at higher temperatures? That way you would have more energy to use at night. It also seems like that would be easier than trying to build these wooden water tanks I read about people using. Sand seems like it would be much easier to deal with than a 500 gallon tank of water.

Originally posted by Moosetracks View Post