Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • alex
    • Feb 2010

New Solar Thermal Concept Panel

To make a long story short, I have built a solar thermal panel in my back yard. However, its a bit different then what I have seen elsewhere. My goal is to find a way to make a cheap solar thermal panels that can out compete current systems in efficiency. I think I may have a concept that could get there.

I have figured out how to make a solar panel out of nothing but plastic, insulted it, and keep it from melting. In short, the panel turns on (becomes black) when water is flowing and turns off (becomes reflective) when water is not flowing. The result, I think, is that solar thermal panels can be built from plastic since the panels will never overheat. This could mean a cost reduction of 80% over what I see currently.

I have a background in physics but I am by no means an expert in solar thermal. I have no practical experience with solar thermal systems whatsoever. The problem just seems to tempting not to work on. I would really appreciate any feedback from anybody out there.

Blue Skies,

Alex
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

Very neat idea. I'm not sure why you get a descending flow on the back side.

Why doesn't the water pressure/flow trap all the particles at the top, or are they heavy enough to overcome the water flow, and stay distributed.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister

Comment

• alex
      • Feb 2010

Mike,