Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bucketboy
    • Feb 2011

Can air heater

Im new to solar and i m interested in the can heaters. we built one (4x8 feet and 240 cans) it generates 120 to 140 degrees during sunlite hours. is there a secret for output? or are they limited? i have a old furnace fan pushing air through it. i cut the bottoms out and left the tops on with the hole i can only get 60 degrees in a 20 x 20 room where it is. or am i expecting too much? thanks
  • russ
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jul 2009

Hi Bucketboy - Welcome to Solar Panel Talk!

What was the outside temperature when your room reached 60 degrees?

How well insulated is your home?

Leaving only the original small opening in the top is a great restriction to the air flow.

Russ
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Comment

• bucketboy
      • Feb 2011

the outside temp is usually less than 0 or 32 F but the reviews i read before building may not be accurate. reviews claim they heat their homes with a panel. i felt if this was sucessful attempt i have room to build several to heat my home. the home is 5 years old and well built. I can find a real testomonial as to how much heat is actually produce from these type of heaters.

Comment

• russ
        Solar Fanatic
        • Jul 2009

Hi Bucketboy - The testimonials are totally useless unless you know the person offering them. Some are misunderstanding while others are totally BS.

Your collector has a little under 3 m2 of surface area.

In the winter you may be getting 500 watts/m2 insolation - probably less but I will use 500.

Note: In January where I am we received a daily average of 2197 watts/m2/day with very few hours over 500 watts (only 14 hours had greater than 500 watts/m2. Possibly the 4 hours in the middle of daylight you will collect all the heat and other hours will cool your hose unless you have a stopper of some sort (check valve).