• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • 69Cyclone
    • Oct 2015

depth of a hot air box

Hi
    Newbie here

Is there any advantage to a deeper box to make up for lack of over all glass? I have seen then the depth of the can mostly.
    Does more volume inside help?

thanks
    Joe
  • Wy_White_Wolf
    Solar Fanatic
    • Oct 2011

IMHO

Increased depth only helps up to the point that the depth no longer hinders thermal airflow of the box. After that point increased depth can hurt heat gain by allowing for a thermal cycle occurring inside the box (hot air in the back of the box rising while cold air next to the glazing falls).

Comment

• 69Cyclone
      • Oct 2015

Originally posted by Wy_White_Wolf
      IMHO

Increased depth only helps up to the point that the depth no longer hinders thermal airflow of the box. After that point increased depth can hurt heat gain by allowing for a thermal cycle occurring inside the box (hot air in the back of the box rising while cold air next to the glazing falls).

IMG_3577.JPG

This is my 1st attempt.

thanks

Comment

• J.P.M.
        Solar Fanatic
        • Aug 2013

If I understand what you're writing and attempting correctly, keep the glazing-to-back of the box dimension as small as possible/practical. Doing so will increase the velocity of the air, and the heat transfer coefficient between the inside surface of the box and the air will improve. While you're at it, put a diffuse in the inlet if you don't have one there now. Also, some dark (black) aluminum mesh, or some material that can take elevated temps. and stay dimensionally stable will improve heat transfer. Just don't pack it so tight that air flow is impeded by increased pressure drop and thus the increased temp. rise decreases thermal efficiency.

Comment

• 69Cyclone
          • Oct 2015

Originally posted by J.P.M.