X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jokeaccount
    • Jul 2013

Complete rookie needs help with first project

Hi,

I'm a student in electrical engineering school and I have undertaken the task to power a 40W LED (or two 20W) using a small solar panel for a front yard. I'm pretty new to this stuff and even though i've taken some classes that were relevant to the use of solar panels, I don't feel that knowledge is really enough for my first hands on experience with such a thing. I have spotted a store that sells panels and this sort of stuff but before I go I want to know what exactly I'm looking for, what to look out for, what my options are, cost effectiveness etc. The only thing you should assume is that I can understand most of what you're talking about when it comes to circuits and electrical stuff but I'm really just a neophyte beyond theory. Also, I do not have any of the basic equipment like a multimeter and such tools which I guess I'm gonna need.

Anyway what I'm looking for is either your personal guidance or a direction to some good and reliable sources (either in this forum or generally on the internet. Please don't tell me to read a 500 page book ) regarding what panels to use, what type of LED (I think they need it for night lighting), what to look out for when I do the connections etc.

Thanks in advance
  • Sunking
    Solar Fanatic
    • Feb 2010

You have not specified any defined parameters like how many watt hours per day, time of year use, and location. Once you sort that out it is 5th grade math. Just read this Sticky and it will tell you exactly what to do.
    MSEE, PE

Comment

• Jokeaccount
      • Jul 2013

Thanks for the sticky seems to cover lots of stuff

For anyone who cares: He location is sunny most of the time of the year. I'm guessing its gonna be 40*10 Wh all year.

Comment

• SunEagle
        Super Moderator
        • Oct 2012

Originally posted by Jokeaccount
        Thanks for the sticky seems to cover lots of stuff