This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LED lighting

Any recommendations for LED lights. I have 3 ceiling cans that I have CFL's (20 wt) now, that I would like to use LED in.
    Thanks
    [I][URL="http://www.solarpaneltalk.com/album.php?albumid=23"]My PV & Thermal Hot Water System.[/URL][/I]

LED's in ceiling can lighting

I worked in the LED business for the past 3 years, there are some strides in output per watt. This field is growing with great strides. The biggest problem is cooling.
    We manufacture lights for aircraft, and while most of these were configured to run off of 28Volts DC we did make some for 120 Volts AC @ 400 Hz
    The problem is current control with each LED or string of LEDs.
    While it is true most white light LED's forward voltage is about 3.5volts the way in that the current is controlled varies a lot. There are many getting into this field but mostly it is the commercial applications is where you will find the "good stuff". These screw in LED bulbs for 120 VAC leave much to be desired and while a CFL may seem "low tech" they are still very good at converting watts to lumen's
    Color temperature is another factor to look at in selecting any lamp other than a incandescent The lower the number, the warmer the color. (2700 K is very warm and pleasing)
    White LED's are basically blue LED's with a phosphor dot that emits the white light (much like a fluorescent uses the UV spectrum to excite the phosphor coated tube.)
    If your ceiling cans are purpose built to accept only a proprietary lamp (Bi or Quad pin) then you will be waiting a long time and would need to change out that fixture for another as these have their own (ballasts) control circuitry made just for the one lamp type. If they have a standard light bulb socket, you do have some options out there, although I have yet to see any that really "shine" pun intended.

Comment

Hey, thanks for the info.