Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Tobym
    • May 2013

New partial off grid system help needed

Hi I'm new here great site buy the way. Im new to the world of solar and could do with some advice. I am in the process of installing an entirely off grid 12v led lighting system trough out my home as I renovate. So I have worked out ill use a max of 70 4watt mr16 down lights, 1or2 led strip lights and 20 or so mini deck lights 0.21 watt each and 3 led outside wall lights at 4.8watt each so I make that 322.6 wat or 26.88 amp so round it up to 400watt or 33.3 amp to cover any changes. I'm also going to run a couple of 12v charging sockets to charge iPads,iPhone and other small electronics. The rest of the house will be on conventional 240v grid ( at the mo).
    Here's we're I want to Check on a few things I have purchased 4 x170w panels (I have attached a pic of data plate on panel to help). I am planning on running the panels in series as I believe this to be the most efficient way to go. Then I will need a 30a but will buy a 40a mppt cc and charge my batteries in
    .1st option 12v configuration so I can feed my 12v system with no faffing about which makes sense to me except for....
    2nd option 24v configuration as again I believe this to be the most efficient way but now I need get my voltage back down to 12v.
    Is there any such thing as a mppt cc that charges at24v but supplies the load terminals with 12v or would I then need to purchase a tranny to drop back down to 12v which in itself has its own wastage.
    Thanks in advance for you help any that you lovely people could offer would be greatly appreciated. Toby
    Attached Files
  • Sunking
    Solar Fanatic
    • Feb 2010

Originally posted by Tobym
    I make that 322.6 wat or 26.88 amp so round it up to 400watt or 33.3 amp to cover any changes.
    Completely useless information. What you must know is how many watt hours you will use in a day.

Watt Hours = watts x hours. All you got is watts.