X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • gingurus
    • Sep 2012

Question for Socal Edison customers on Solar (net metering)

Sorry if this is a noob question. I am a SCE customer in southern CA who just had solar installed w/ Solarcity. The size of my system 6.240 kW and according to my their monitoring website, I'm generating approx 30kwh per day. Which would put me at 900kwh for the month. My first 2 net metering bill shows that for the past 2 months, I have consumed around 900kwh per month and my net generation was around 600kwh. The consumption number of 900kWh is consistent with what I have been using for the month for the past 3 years. So being that my usage was 900 and my solar production according to solarcity is 900, my net usage should be a fat zero. Instead my bill shows a net usage of 300 kWh (based on my usage of 900kWh minus the net production of 600kWh via solar) When I called Solarcity for an explanation, they told me that the net metering system of SCE works in a way such that the consumption number on the bill shows not my raw usage but the usage based on raw usage minus what the panels produced during my time of use (assuming it was during sunlight hours). This makes absolutely no sense to me as the number Edison gave me as my usage is consistent with what I've been using for the past 3 years. So can anyone explain to me if the explanation Solarcity gave me is legit? Is there any other logical reason based on SCE net metering system why I should only be credited with a net production of 600 while I should be producing 900kWh?
  • bobfromnj
    • Feb 2012

Something is wrong

The explanation you got does not make sense. My bill shows what I used and what the solar sytem produced which of course is deducted. If I produced more then I used (which is the case most months) then a get an accumlative credit. I now have enough credits for about 2 months.