X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tomt
    • Nov 2011

mobile solar power question

Hey guys and girls,

I am new to solar and need some help. I am a general contractor in colorado springs and have and cargo or box trailer that I would like to install solar power on. The trailer is about 10 ft tall 7 ft wide and 12 ft long. I would like to use golf cart batterys and could cover the whole roof with panels if needed. I have heard that golf cart batterys work better because they have thicker plates than car batterys which means slower draining and faster charging. I would be running dc lights, air commpressor, chop saw and it would be nice to install a small frig if possible. This project could add close to 1000 lbs to the trailer if needed cause I dont haul material much. I would like this to be a homemade project and as cost effective as possible. If anyone could give a idea of the right materials to use and a basic description of proper installation that would be great. As far as the total amount of amps used at any given time I will try to put that together over the next couple of days. Most of these tools will be used intermittently.

Thanks for your help
  • russ
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jul 2009

You really have to determine how much power you need for anyone to comment. Power tools are power hogs - especially when you first push the button.

Take a Kill A Watt meter or similar and measure each tool & fridge - lighting can easily be added up.

It will be quite costly and you will still need the generator as a backup during cloudy/stormy periods.

We have been through these type of trailers before and usually sticker shock ends the discussion.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Comment

• Mike90250
      • May 2009