X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • davidon
    • Aug 2023

Panels on Barn and backfeed power back to main panel at house. Is this do-able?

Total Noob to this. In MD. Looking to put Panels on barn which is about 3-350 ft from house. Currently have sub panel at barn with 100A breaker. 200A main breaker at house. There are 4 wires going from house to barn, direct burial, I believe they are 2/0 gauge with neutral a bit higher gauge. Some companies are saying I need to dig a new trench and wiring in order to accomodate the solar. I want to avoid that if possible. Looking to set up a 20kW system. What are my options?
  • bcroe
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jan 2012

Originally posted by davidon
    Total Noob to this. In MD. Looking to put Panels on barn which is about 3-350 ft from house. Currently have sub panel at barn with 100A breaker. 200A main breaker at house. There are 4 wires going from house to barn, direct burial, I believe they are 2/0 gauge with neutral a bit higher gauge. Some companies are saying I need to dig a new trench and wiring in order to accomodate the solar. I want to avoid that if possible. Looking to set up a 20kW system. What are my options?
    You need to map it all out, and check against local codes.

First problem is getting power from the barn to the house. possibly a
    pair of 10KW inverters in the barn produce 20KW, which is 240VAC
    at 83A. The barn could be upgraded to a 200A box to make it easier,
    did that here. The pair of inverters would feed a pair of 60A breakers
    located at the opposite end of this box, from the main house input.
    Other circuits in the middle. The 100A feed from the house and the 83A
    possible from the inverters will add up to less than the capacity of a 200A box.

Next question is voltage loss in a 700 foot loop of 2/0 gauge copper. Its
    resistance is about .0779 ohms per 1000 feet, or about 0.055 ohms for
    a 700 ft loop. At 83A the voltage lost will be about 4.5V which will be added