X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Archer Toad
    • Jun 2022

New solar project from England needs your friendly advice

My first post here, so please be gentle with me , if you need more info to make a more informed answer just let me know

This is my first move into solar power, I am a retired mechanical electrical engineer but I have never worked with solar so for this I do have knowledge gap

Input will be from 4 x 410W quality solar panels spec of :-
    Rated (Peak) Power (Wp): 410W in Standard 1000w/m2 solar light
    Open Circuit Voltage: 37.2V (Vmp =31.2V)
    Short Circuit Current: 14.01A (Imp = 13.15A)
    Efficiency: 21.0 %
    Cell Type: Monocrystalline Silicon
    I am also adding 2 x 600W wind generators

The panels will be south facing but they will be mounted on my garage roof as my roof currently has a solar water heating system installed there limiting space for solar panels

Having been keeping an eye on the garage roof for many days I estimate on a nice day I will get about 6 -7 hours of uninteruped daylight on the panels, slightly more in summer less in winter (maybe down to 1 hour) as is usual with UK weather so would it be a good or bad idea that I have added 1200 watts of wind generator power

I already have a 12 volt 960 amp hour lead acid battery bank, (was being used in a hospital UPS set up and all are as new) or I can configure the batteries to supply 24 volt 480 amp hour if anyone recomends that would be better

Output will be to my house to power the usual 3 bedroom semi detached, central heating is mains gas, I haven't worked out the total consumption of electricity by units but looking at the bills we are using about 7,000 units a year

I am working that my fridge and freezer and central heating boiler and pump will remain on mains power throughout, at least until I am sure they wouldn't fail if my batteries die

I do not want the system to feed back into the mains excess power

So my questions are: