X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • cyrille
    • Mar 2022

Total beginner wants to install solar on rooftop

Hello,

I have a 1 story secondary house with a 30° roof with a south west orientation at 1000m altitude where I would like to put some solar panels.
    The main aim for these panels is to keep the temperature in the house during the winter months and heat the hot water tank to save $$...
    If it can, in addition, provide some power in case of main power failure, it would be a plus. But I am not planning to install battery system ($$) power failures where I am are not that frequent.

The roof has around 25m² of usable space and I am planning to install around 2KW of panels.

I am a capable handyman (I am building the house after all!), but I am completely new to solar stuff...

Hence, I have a number of questions:
    - Most of the solar panels I find these days are the 100W flexible type. Are they suitable for installation on rooftops? if yes, how do you install them? (I have a european wavy tile roof, not a US shingle)
    - What about electrical connections. Are they standard connections coming out of the panels? going all the way to the inverter?
    - Do you have advice on the inverter. Ideally, I will want something that can help me pilot/control my heaters (3 to 4KW between the heaters and hot water). Hence I will need to be able to programmatically condition things (if temp>8°and solar is present, then use solar power to power alternatively the various heaters, if temp<8°, then power heaters, even if there is no solar to keep from freezing. but if I am in the house, then heat all the time, even if no solar)... But I have not found system that indicated that they could do that... Would I need to create my "control" (using an arduino or somehting like that?)

Thanks for all the info you can give me.
    Cyrille

• bcroe
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jan 2012

You could consider something like what I do to heat with solar. Panels are