X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • igell
    • May 2021

Buying a home with a solar lease

Hoping I can get some help here since i am very new to solar...

I am in the process of purchasing a home that has a solar lease on it. The lease is a 20y and currently on year 6 (so14 more years)
    The contract states that there are options on changes to lease every 5y or at sale of property.
    1. I have an option to pay out the lease up front for $6200 (so i dont pay the 3% annual price hike)
    2. Buy out the panels altogether for $8k
    3. or leave things as they are and continue to lease

I am trying to understand how much savings I would get and what is the best plan of action.
    Seller provided me a bill for 2020 but I seem to be missing how many kwh the panels generated over the year to make an informed decision... right?

Screen Shot 2021-05-25 at 2.11.50 PM.png
  • hayhayday
    • Dec 2020

If it were me I would likely take the 6200 option as the system likely will have little to no value in 14 years especially with likely changes to net metering coming up and would welcome them removing it in 14 years while being responsible for keeping everything running until then.

Comment

• J.P.M.
      Solar Fanatic
      • Aug 2013

Another piece of info you'll need to make informed decisions is knowledge of how the likely upcoming changes to NEM for the big 3 I.O.U.'s in CA will affect your bills.

I'd get informed about that before I made any decisions.

At this time things are murky but it looks like NEM as we know may well take a substantial hit in terms of cost effectiveness.

Too bad you bought a home with a solar lease.

Comment

• igell
        • May 2021

I read through the NEM changes proposed in CA but have a hard time understanding what it really means. What is the alternative? will it make leasing solar less cost effective? How much will a typical bill change?

Comment

• sabersix
          • Mar 2015