X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • pkellner
    • Mar 2021

For SolarEdge with 290W LONGI panels, Do I need to keep same brand in string?

I've got a 5K inverter with 14 LONGI panels on it. I have room to add 2 more and want to do that. I bought the house with solar and don't have the original receipt. All I can tell from looking at the panel is it has a serial number like this: "LRP503051171000201130".

I understand from my last post here that I need to stick to 290W as more than than will not be used and less will drag the string down.

Do I need to stick to the same panels that are already in the string? If not, what questions do I need to ask (SolarEdge I assume) to find out what panels I can match with.

• bob-n
    Solar Fanatic
    • Aug 2019

=> I'm not a Solaredge expert. Anyone here familiar with Solaredge, please check my logic and math. <=

Before adding to the string, you need to be sure that the SolarEdge won't be damaged by too much voltage.

Each panel puts out a range of voltages, depending on how it is illuminated and how it is loaded. The highest output possible is called "Maximum Open Circuit Voltage". I am assuming that your panels are Longi LR6-60-290M. According to ecodirect's website, these are rated for 38.8V maximum open circuit voltage. If yours are a different model, the maximum output voltage could be different.

The Solaredge SE5000H-US is a 5kW inverter. You may have this model or a different model. According to their website, the input is rated for 480V maximum.

With 14 panels putting out as much as 38.8V, you may already be running too much voltage (543V). Adding more panels to the string seems like a bad idea.

Some arrays include optimizers as well as the inverter. That adds another level of complication. It could be that optimizers are keeping your current array safe.

Here's some additional reading to help you understand these limits:
    7kW Roof PV, APsystems QS1 micros, Nissan Leaf EV

Comment

• wanabee solar
      • Jul 2014