X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • joe12pack
    • May 2019

30% tax credit for Solar apply to residential real estate? (Sec 48)

I've been doing as much research as I can on this topic and it seems some folks say the 30% federal credit is only available on owner occupied residences and other folks say that residential rental property is eligible under the ITR/Sec 48. The folks saying Sec 48 is not available to me say that Sec 48 only applies to Commercial or Businesses. Does anyone have a definitive answer to this question?
  • J.P.M.
    Solar Fanatic
    • Aug 2013

Yes. A qualified tax professional.

Comment

• joe12pack
      • May 2019

Originally posted by J.P.M.
      Yes. A qualified tax professional.
      Most "Qualified Tax Professionals" are dumber than a box of rocks and most know even less than I do especially if it's an uncommon situation. But thanks for your banal response.

Comment

• Mike90250
        • May 2009

As a non-tax professional, I cannot answer any tax questions.

Anyone ( non-tax professional ) who does: a) can't be held to the answer b) can be sued by the state for impersonation or practicing with out a license.
        Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
        || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
        || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
        gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister

Comment

• J.P.M.
          Solar Fanatic
          • Aug 2013

Originally posted by joe12pack