X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Mattbdog
    • Feb 2018

How Old is "Too Old"

Hello all, I'm brand new to this. I have searched through the forums, but can't find a specific thread about the system I am considering.
    I'm down to 2 installers, both with great reviews. One is proposing SunPower E19 320W panels with Sun Edge Optimizers.
    The other is proposing SunPower E22 360W panels with microinverters.
    We have plenty of east facing roof (really no south facing), so I can't see the advantage to the higher efficiency panels, which are obviously much more expensive.
    I get the feeling he is trying to up-sell me. He says the E19 and Sun Edge technology is obsolete.
    I'm planning on going with the 320W Sun Edge system, but this accusation of being too old did get under my skin.
    Any thoughts on whether or not this tech is "too old" would be greatly appreciated, because I don't have any background in this, and don't really know where else to go for specific recommendations without bias otherwise. Thanks much.
    Attached Files
  • NukeEngineer
    Solar Fanatic
    • Sep 2017

SolarEdge isn't old technology. Their newest line of HD Waves are the highest efficiency inverters your money can buy, at 99%. As for panels, as long as you're not tight on roof space, then go with the cheapest per watt. Simple as that!
    https://pvoutput.org/list.jsp?sid=54099

Comment

• Kingram
      • Sep 2017

How much roof space do you have ? here is a google estimator tool to find out- https://www.google.com/get/sunroof#p=0
      I have only 600 sq ft so I went with the Sun Power 360 wt panels.
      9.36 grid tied, Phoenix Arizona

Comment

• J.P.M.
        Solar Fanatic
        • Aug 2013