X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mweighall
    • Jan 2018

Running a system before receiving PTO

Short version of long story.

A buddy of mine who is a professional installer helped me put a 10kw system on my roof. Turns out my city required a complete rapid shut down. I faked a rapid shut down box that was made by Fronius to be 'compatible' with my Fronius IG Plus inverter which cost me $200. I also installed an aftermarket rapid shut down that cost me $900.

The city bought it, the install is SUPER clean and the inspector said so. Kudos to my buddy for doing a good job.

I apply to PG&E on October ~5th. Now they say my inverter is not a compatible "Smart inverter" and I need to get a new inverter $3,000, and resubmit to the city and get them to sign off it then I can submit to PG&E for PTO.

I've been running the system for 5 months anyway. its producing like 30kw per day. PGE is showing on my bill that I am getting a bill credit for ALL the electricity being produced even though I have not been given PTO or put on a NEM. Frankly i don't care paying monthly as long as I get a bill credit.

Choice #1 - Buy the $3,000 inverter, submit to the city again, get legal

Choice #2 - let it it right and get the system 'legal' and submit to PGE before I sell the house so I don't leave a problem for the next guy but NOT be out like $4,000 right now.

Any opinions? Or Comments?
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

Eventually, the utility (PGE) will win whatever they ask for. If they want a smart meter compatible inverter, they can force the issue by demanding you turn the inverter off, or disconnect you from their Grid.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||